The story behind a plate of cekmek

A few days back, I really missed the Kelantanese delicacies. It maybe because I had found some exotic Kelantanese food that my grandmother, Mek always cook. It is the Achaa Pisae Ggallor ( Acar Pisang Gala ) which I found in the Ayoh Ray’s page. Aduh…

The mixture of sweet, sour, hot, spicy taste and soft, milky, texture and the fabulous smell and the beautiful presentation.. aduh..

In order to curb the pain in my heart, I’ve decided to make something which could help me lessen this homesick homefood sickness. After looking through the net, kuih cekmek was what I’ve found. It is simple and easy, which is in line with my cooking policy. Huhuhu..

So, I rushed to the kitchen to see what I’ve got. There was only self rising flour in the kitchen. After consulting my roommate, I found out that the flour is not suitable to be used for my noble mission. I’ve nearly gave up doing the cekmek, because I don’t want to trouble others, borrowing things all around the village.

Some of my cooking policy:

.     1. Be easy and simple.

.     2. Not to trouble others.

.     3. Minimise the casualty.

However, when my other housemate heard that I want to cook something special (?), he has phoned some of his agents, to get things run. It reminds me of how the Godfather works, just make some calls to organise things. huhuhu

After a couple of minutes, the plain flour arrived. The process of making the cekmek run smoothly with the help of quite a number of people. It was quite fun to experiment this little thing because you’ll never know what would happen to the taste of the food.The experiment bit was that I mixed the potato and sweet potato instead of using the ubi stelo/keledek. huhuhu

And this is the result of my experiment:

These cekmeks is the finest cekmek in its group, carefully chosen for the picture-taking purpose. But I can assure you the taste is just same as the other cekmeks that we made. huhuhu

These cekmeks is dedicated to not only my Cik and Mek (my grandparents) in Dusun Durian, but also my family all around the globe, my friends, my relatives back in Malaysia and the reader of this blog. Hopefully all of you could include my name in your dua’ during iftar or whenever you pray during this blessing Ramadhan.

Reminder: As we all happy with a lot of foods during iftar, others may not be lucky as we are. If you have extra budget in your pocket(s), please kindly donate some of them to the unfortunate friends. Only Allah can repay your kindness. Here are some of the organizations that collect online charity for the society : Kijang Care, Islamic Relief Malaysia and Islamic Relief UK.

Happy iftar..