Meeting the Master XVI

I had a trip during the last school holiday to my wife’s place, Kuching, Sarawak. Coincidentally (by the will of God), I met  one of my masters, Cikgu Hakim, my gayong friends during the varsity days, Ust Hakimi and Ust Firdaus, Cikgu Abdul Azami (PSSGM Sarawak) and Ataillah (Cikgu Hakim’s student). All of them are great figures. I am really lucky to meet them.

from the left: Me, Ust Firdaus, Ust Hakimi, Cg Hakim, Cg Abdul Azami, and Ataillah. picture taken from Cikgu Hakim’s blog

The meeting has led me to search for the origin of Gayong in Sarawak. With the help of Cikgu Azami, I was able to trace down one of the main characters, Cikgu Uthman b Haji Ramli, the Yang Dipertua PSSGM Sarawak. My wife and I went to his house which was also his gelanggang during the night of the training.  It is situated at Taman Malihah.

According to Cikgu Uthman, the gelanggang is called Gelanggang Rosli Dhobi, a well known independence fighter for the country especially in Sarawak. Allayarham Rosli Dhobi is a very close relative to his family, from Cikgu Uthman’s side. Therefore, there is no doubt that the warrior’s blood flows in warmly in the family.

The training, they are lucky to have a very good conditions to excel.

With Cikgu Uthman

When we arrived at the gelanggang, we got a warm welcome from the family. Cikgu Uthman and his wife, Puan Sa’adiah Binti Salleh (we address her as makcik- as a polite way as we don’t know her name yet at the moment). In front of the house, there were students having their warming up, the tough one I guess, at least for me. Then they move on to more aggressive movements. huhuhu.

We listened to both Cikgu Uthman and Puan Sa’adiah on how Gayong was brought and developed in Sarawak. And how their son’s passionate in silat has made Gayong in Sarawak great (Cikgu Khawar-  I was a bit unlucky because he was already went back to his working place when we arrived). The sweet and bitterness that they have faced in order to succeed. Insyaallah God will always help those who are walking in the right path.

for more info on Cikgu Uthman and PSSGM Sarawak, kindly refer here.

Credit to Mr google map my wife for showing me the direction to the place. huhuhu

2 Comments

  1. Bong said,

    October 13, 2012 at 10:54 am

    No offence intended, this post has discredited the actual gayong pioneers in Sarawak long before that Mr Khawar guy made it official on a piece of paper. Or maybe the correspondent from whom you gather the information is too much of chasing after fame. They are a warm family however. But ask them who actually had casted spell on a poor bloke and who actually very proud of his barbaric way threatening those who disagree with him.

  2. paih said,

    October 13, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Sorry for that Mr Bong. Yeah Cikgu Khawar is the one who make it official but surely he is not the first person who brought Gayong to Sarawak. huhuhu

    My comment to your next comment:

    1. Nobody is perfect.
    2. Please look at the bright side instead of the dark ones.
    3. We all have the same God. I am pretty sure that He is just in everything. Lets leave the judgement of others to Him.
    4. There are always the people behind the scenes, no doubt about that. But again, God almighty can see everything and he surely rewards on the truth.
    P/s: A reminder to myself, where am I when others have produced hundreds and thousands of warriors who are willing to die in the name of Islam. What is my role?


Leave a Reply

