Jealousy strikes

There are times when I felt a bit jealous to the religious education teachers at my school. I have my reasons for that. In the previous two weeks of schooling session, we have new students entering the school. They are the year one kids who are really innocent and know nothing unless being told by their teachers and friends. They observe people around them and fast learn new things everyday.

For Muslims, among the routine that they need to start doing is to pray. Before praying, they need to know the basic things such as how to take wudhu and the movements in the prayer. As the students in standard two and one are in the evening session, the teachers especially the religious education teachers take initiative to make the jaamaah prayers (dzuhur and asar) as the students’ daily routine.

However, inviting students to pray in the first few weeks of the schooling session is a bit tricky. This is because a number of students in standard one do not have the basic in performing the prayer. They need help especially in doing the wudhu’ and the praying itself before they formally learn them in the classroom as well as get guidance from their parents at home.

In order to make things smooth I was invited to help these teachers to  help the students especially in their whudu’. I gladly accepted the request although it means that I need to be home late in the evening. This is the moment that I have waiting for; to do something good and make myself feel at ease. I can contribute something directly to the  Deen, teaching the students on the fardu ain. huhuhu

Although I was able to help just a few students to clean themselves before meeting the God, I feel good and even better than having the double prosperity burger, which cannot be explained by words. The feelings that I have make me wonder, whether I am the right track for just teaching the foreign language to the students when I should be teaching something more important than playing with words of less important in Islam.

That is when the jealousy strikes. I am a bit jealous to the religious education teachers who put their heart to really educate the students to be the good servants of Allah. In my case (language teacher),  I really need to find my own way to link things that I teach to make students realise that everything that happens evolve under the act of Allah.

Perhaps the key is ‘to develop the balanced being’

After having a deep thought about it, I realise that every occurrence have their own purposes and should play their own roles. My job is to do what I am asked to do which is to teach English language to the students so that they become knowledgeable person in and out.

In a school there should be a Principal, teachers and the staffs. However, people rarely appreciate the role of cleaners or the canteen workers in which without them a school is incomplete. So do this tiny little English teacher? Even the year six student who can’t read and write has his own purpose being at school.

This has made me thankful for what God have made me, where he send me, for whom he asked me to serve to and what he asked me to teach. I am just the actor of His script and have my own role to play. Alhamdulillah.

*****

1. To make up what I think that I have lost for not teaching the students the fardu ain knowledge, I get involved in silat , the fardu kifayah knowledge (or perhaps the fardu ain as well, by looking at how Islam is suppressed by the Munafikin and Kuffar nowadays) -hoping that God will accept my small token of gratitude, insyaallah.

2. I am really exited to get my own kid(s) and with the help of my wife, I am going to teach them the fardu ain knowledge as well as the fardu kifayah.. huhuhu.. who, and when? only God knows the answer. huhuhu

3. Fardu ain means it is compulsory upon us individually and fardu kifayah means it is compulsory upon the entire community. Fardu kifayah transforms into fardu ain if the community fails in its duties, until such a time that at least one person or a group in the community fulfills it.

6 Comments

  1. Noor said,

    January 16, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Thats exactly what I think especially when planning about future life.
    “Buat benda ni semua contribute tak untuk the one and only ultimate goal?”

    I die a little inside bila rasa contribution tu sikit je but then yeah, I came into the same conclusion, we all have our own role to be played.

  2. paih said,

    January 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    The ultimate goal always need to be in mind. huhuhu

    isn’t your part time job now is jadi ustazah? i’m jealous of you as well then. huuu

  3. Noor said,

    January 16, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    LOL ustazah is now taking a break because of the weather and exams. Cuk3 betol!

  4. warid said,

    January 17, 2011 at 5:52 am

    ahah!!! statement hint tu… (referring to point no 2)

  5. rumah kuning said,

    January 17, 2011 at 9:05 am

    mcm tertarik lebih ngan point no 2. ….hehehe

  6. hunny said,

    January 28, 2011 at 11:36 am

    “like” this entry =) faiz, u can still instill the moral values in ur lessons, remember?🙂 and it will be luckier and easier if u only have malay students in ur classroom if u kno what i mean :>


Leave a Reply

