Meeting The Master IX

Introducing my two masters Cikgu Zainizam (Cikgu Zam) and Cikgu Ahmad Zawari (Cikgu Mat). They had been teaching silat in IPBA for a couple of years before I entered the college. They carry the Pusaka Gayong Flag as they learned the art in their younger age.

Cikgu Mat on the left and Cikgu Zam on the right side of the picture.

We knew Cikgu Zam as a teacher who can elaborate things in greater details. He is able to explain why something needs to be like this and not like that. His skills especially in this area always amazes me. Besides, he has the  ability to show the gentle side in his silat movement. Perhaps, that happens because he learned silats other than Pusaka Gayong as well, which he always hide from us. I only know that he used to be one of Cikgu Amin Hamzah’s students at the end of my time in the college.

Cikgu Mat is known as a teacher who remember the sillibuss that he has from cover to cover. Acquire the skills mainly at UUM Sintok, Kedah along with Cikgu Zam, I am sure that he had really done his homework those days by doing a lot of drilling in his sillat lesson. By just looking up to the syilling (don’t ask me why), in an instance he was able to show the moves that you have requested. huhuhu. Perhaps his teachers such as Cikgu Shahudin, Cikgu Shahrudin, Cikgu Ghani, Cikgu Fadhil and ect. (mainly from Sungai Limau) had used special methodology to train them. I am clueless about that. In KL, Cikgu Mat moves under Cikgu Muhidin and had also trained in ADMA. Cikgu Muhayadin is among the senior teachers who are the right man under Cikgu Awang. However, I have yet to discover more about this senior teacher.

It was a bless to have about the same thing taught to me (may I say in a revised edition). To start with, my foundation in Gayong was in Pusaka Gayong and in fact, majority of the source of my schooling years knowledge comes from the brilliant teachers from Gurun which was passed down to my teachers. Therefore, by having Cikgu Zam and Cikgu Mat sharing their knowledge with me, I was able to widen my horizon. There is no doubt that these two masters taught me on how to look at things in different perspectives.

Starting to learn from them in the mid 2004, stopping for a while to further my study and came back to tidy up things on 2009, I feel that the time given was short. It ended up with more puzzles that I need to solve. The quest is never near to a fullstop. Many trainers got confused when meeting Gayong teachers that are not the same Gayong as yours. My advice is simple; open your heart and learn from them. The variety that they show will give you more understanding about things. These varieties are the beauty of Silat Gayong that makes you nodding your head , smiling and proclaiming that Allah is always great deep in your heart.

We knew Cikgu Zam as a teacher who can elaborate things in greater details. Besides, his ability to show the gentle side in his silat movement. Perhaps, that happens because he learned silat other than Gayong Pusaka as well, which he always hide from us.

Leave a Reply

