The Ketupat Making Day

I was not able to make the iftar at Dusun Durian on time (refer here). I had my iftar at Kadok instead. Thanks to KakNik and Kak Yah for the meal huhuhu.. Special thanks to my cousin for giving me some space in his superb car on his way back to Kelantan. Alhamdulillah, I could arrive home earlier than it should be.

When I went back to dusun durian, partucularly at Ayah Cik’s house, my relatives were having their moreh (meal after tarawikh). Some ate the meat and many were having the colek (fruit salad mixed with sugar cane, palm sugar syrup, chillies and groundnut). I think they have made one record. Which is eating a bucket full of the colek. Of course the left me with some. huhuhu..

Cik (my gramp) was there but Mek was not around. After having some of the food, I rushed to Cik’s house as Cik informed me that Mek were having her fun time doing the ketupat.

Although it was already late, Mek were busy wrapping the triangle ketupat with Palas leaves.

There were still plenty of the emthy Palas leaves  waiting to be filled with the sweet and milky sticky rice. Then the ketupat will be steamed or fried. If we are lucky, mek will insert some sambal daging (serunding@beef floss)  in the ketupat.

Usually, she will not put all the ketupats with the sambal daging. Therefore, all her children, grandchild and the relatives need to give random drawlots to ketupat and if they are lucky, they will get the ketupat with sambal daging. Maybe there are hidden agenda or some sort of philosophy behind it. hmmm

I found this as well.. huhuh

The tapai (halalan toyyiba) is stored to make sure that it will be ready on Eid. The tapai is made of cooked sticky rice mixed with ragi (speacial yis)*. Then it is wrapped wit the banana leaves. When the tapai has matured or ripen, it become sweet. I am not really fan of it though. This tapai is not the same as the tapai that is made in Eastern Malaysia (Sabah & Sarawak) as their tapai is similar to the alcohol drinks (haram). huhuhu

Tomorrow will be the Eid day (need to watch the moon first). And the Ramadhan is leaving us. What marks do we get for the deeds that we made throuhgout the blessed month? unsatisfactory, satisfactory or highly distinction?

*When I was in UK, I used the yis used to bake break (ibu roti=mother bread) to make the tapai. It was an unsuccessful experiment as the sticky rice did not make any expected changes. It did not ripen at all!. So I have conclude that we need to use special ragi to make tapai.  huhuhu

5 Comments

  1. Hafzan Lazim said,

    September 19, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I want my Mek!!!!!

  2. Hafzan Lazim said,

    September 19, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Crystal clear picture.

  3. ajik said,

    September 19, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    tape mek has ripened and has been sent to our home

  4. Nor said,

    September 20, 2009 at 8:27 am

    haih miss home.

    lepas ni saya update blog. siyes janji. janji rock. hahaha.

    Selamat Hari Rayaa Maaf Zahir Batinnnnn!

  5. cik zza said,

    September 21, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    this entry make me really miss my mek..sbb sokmo buat tupt daun palass.huhuhu..sabarla hati..blla nk ry msia..


Leave a Reply

