National School Silat Competition

I went to have a peep at a silat competition which was held in the Tasik titiwangsa stadium last week. It was a good experience because that was my first time watching a national silat event. It was also an eye opener for me looking at the cream among the cream competing for the medals.

About the event:

What: Pertandingan Silat Sekolah-sekolah Kementerian Pelajaran Malaysia
When: 3rd to 6th August 2009
Where: Titiwangsa Stadium
Who: Primary and secondary school students from all over the country
Why: Yearly event
How: The competition is categorised into Tempur (early prepared pair fighting), Tari (individual silat movements), Jurus Wajib (group fixed pattern), masal (group pattern) and Music.

Please correct me if the information is wrong.

Silat seni

I have skipped my early years education in the silat as I do not have any experience in silat competition so far. And  of course I am an old man now. I don’t think my skills, strength and tactics would  enable me to even submit my name to any martial art competition. Looking at my condition, the organiser will just straight away kick me away for the event. huhuhu..

The Kedah team- The student who blowed the serunai seemed to be really young. The songs played by them were great.

I was really astonished when I listened to the musics played in the competition. Each team brought along their musician team. The musician team played musics for their respective team. The use of gamelan really suited the fast pace of the competitor’s movements. The serunai songs were also nice thing to hear. The songs would become better if they are played harmonically with the gendang (drum).

It has become a trend now to use a bit different intonation and tone from the traditional silat music. According to my teachers, one of the createria in the marking system was that the marks were given to those who perform in same rhythm with the music played. Therefore, the use of the traditional music is seen as less competitive compared to the ‘modern’ one. It is like using blues songs when others are using the pop song. However, please do not get me wrong. I did not say that the traditional songs are not good. It was just when we put them together with others, people start comparing them with the so called the new songs.

And the winners for the competition are….. (refer here).

KL team- silat tempur – 4th place

Based on the result, it seems that Sarawak, Selangor, Sabah, Perak , Negeri Sembilan and Johor teams were really strong. For Sabah and Sarawak teams, they will perhaps become even stronger next year as the competition will be held in Sarawak next year. Although Kelantan didn’t win any place, they had shown their sportsmanship spirit. The Red Warrior will definitely go for the revenge next year. Maybe using the rebana ubi as a secret weapon? huhuhu..

p/s: Seni silat nowadays has slowly lost their identity. For the sake of competition, silat movements have become something else (i.e wrestling, ultramen and other stuff). huhuhu.. Maybe the movements have already been in silat and I am not aware of them, I do not know. huhuhu..

4 Comments

  1. hilmi said,

    August 13, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    tempur je ke? masal yg 4 org tu takde? heh

  2. paih said,

    August 13, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    sorry for the mistake. I have updated the post.. huhuhu

  3. warid85 said,

    August 14, 2009 at 12:30 am

    A palatable piece of work. At least i know there are still Malays out there.

  4. EFA said,

    January 4, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Pencak silat mEmang best!!!!!


Leave a Reply

