Meeting the Master V

Less than two weeks after the course with Pak Ngah Izahar, I had an opportunity to visit another important person in Gayong, which is Cikgu Amin Hamzah. I was told by my younger brother that Cikgu Amin happened to come to his school for a belt awarding ceremony for the Maahad Tahfiz Sains students. The organiser took the opportunity to conduct a short course for the higher grades students. With the help of my brother, I was able to join the course. Thanks to the organiser for allowing me to join the course (although I am just an outsider)  Huhuhu.. There were also students from UTP and Ipoh came to the course.

Cikgu Amin with his right men. From the left Cikgu Azizan, Cikgu Amin and Cikgu Wan Abd Halim.

That was the first time I saw Cikgu Amin by my own eyes. I have heard a lot about him from my friends, especially bro Hafiz (stoke) and bro Hakim (france). I arrived a bit late to the course. That had given a negative impression about me. In addition to that, I have also made a few technical mistakes which for me is fine but not to the Cikgu Amin and the organiser. Luckily, nothing bad happened. In the training session, Cikgu Amin was very serious and liked to use high tone voice to teach. That’s the first impression that I had on him. huhuhu

However, after being there for quite some time and consulting him in person, I believe that he is a true master who tried his best to protect what was passed down to him and the survival of gayong. In my point of view, CIkgu Amin is a very obedient student of the late Super Grand Master Dato Meor Abdul Rahman and the late Cikgu Ahmad Lazim. He follows almost everything that he saw and was done to him.

In the course that we had, he asked for some food and drinks exactly the same as the late Super Grand Master did when the set of syllabus was passed down to the students. He talked about the ‘adat’ and rituals that the late Super Grand Master did. He regards the late Dato’ Meor even higher than his late father. He always became very gloomy when he talked about the late Super Grand Master.

The participants.

Alhamdulillah, God has opened another gate for me to explore and see his richness. Hopefully the link that I have developed with Cikgu Amin, his right men (Cikgu Wan Abd Halim and Cikgu Azizan), and anak2 gayong Tanah Merah, Machang, UTP and Ipoh can help me widen my view on silat especially in Gayong. There are still a looot more to learn.. huhu..

More on Cikgu Amin (here)

Leave a Reply

