Remembering Names

When I went back to my hometown last week, I had the opportunity to visit my friend teaching his students at Sek Men Puteri Saadong.

Cikgu Mie is demonstrating a deadly technique to his apprentices, Asas Tangkis..

There are a lot of thing that I have learned from him. One of them is to know each and every students in your gelanggang. He is really good at remembering their names, even for a few guys who has just started the Silat class on that day. huhuhu

To my friends, forgive me if I am not able to remember your name yet especially for those from ipba’s gelanggang. Please give some time for me to remember all of your names.  I admit that I am not really good at remembering names. huhuhu..

Say (unto mankind): Cry unto Allah, or cry unto the Beneficent, unto whichsoever ye cry (it is the same). His are the most beautiful names. And thou (Muhammad), be not loud-voiced in thy worship nor yet silent therein, but follow a way between. (Al-Isra’ 110)

“Katakanlah: “Serulah Allah atau serulah Ar-Rahman. Dengan nama yang mana saja kamu seru, Dia mempunyai al asmaaul husna (nama-nama yang terbaik) dan janganlah kamu mengeraskan suaramu dalam shalatmu dan janganlah pula merendahkannya dan carilah jalan tengah di antara kedua itu”.” (QS. Al-Isra‘ : 110).

More reading:

  1. Why & How To Learn Student Names (here)
  2. Memory Aids (here)

Leave a Reply

