Serunai and Gendang

I went to a new silat port, just for a visit as my current training gelanggang at Bandar Tun Razak is no longer operating, due to some unwanted reasons. After training for a while in this village-like gelanggang, the instuctor had decided to postpone the class to the next day. He wanted to recruit some of the trainers to play serunai and gendang (the Malay traditional music instruments). It is because some of the experts in the field were around that night, performing for a wedding ceremony nearby in the neighborhood.

The Gendang Silat 5 Sahabat Daerah Bera Group.

As for me, I just followed the crowd, enjoying the performance as well. The songs that was played had really awaken something inside me. The trill was there. Unfortunately, listening was the only thing that I know. Music is not my intelligence. Bye. Therefore I have decided to skip the extra class that they have later that night, which I think might end up just before subuh. I need to get back to collage facing the reality. Assignment.

Gendang set- What we supposed to learn (taken from Serunai Fakir)
Recorder- A serunai like flute. What we are exposed to.

When I was in a small kid, playing a recorder is a compulsory component in the music lesson in class. However, I can hardly remember what I have learnt at that moment. All I know is just to make the ambulance sirent. All you need to do is to detach the head part of the recorder and blew it. Open and close the other end of the recorder altenately. Simple and easy..   huhuhu

2 Comments

  1. Nor comey lotey hihi said,

    April 21, 2009 at 4:57 am

    I played the recorder when abah was not home because abah always say,”Nanti ular maghi”

    but but I think all I did is just make some random(unpleasant) sounds that snake will be running away instead of coming closer.
    No music sense at all. Haha

  2. ajik said,

    April 25, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I sometimes wanted to play some music
    but all what i can do is hitting the table randomly….
    huuhhuhu


Leave a Reply

