One fair question

At the end of his life, suddenly he felt that he was standing in front of a gate. Knock3, the door was knocked. “Who’s that?” there was a voice coming from inside. Then I spoke, ” This is me, sir”.

“Who are you?”
Faiz, sir.

“Is that your name?”
Yes, sir.

“I am not asking for your name.”
Emmm, I am son of Hj Lazim, sir.

“I don’t want to know who your father is. I want to know who you are.”
I am an English language teacher to be, sir.

“I am not asking for your occupation. I am asking: who are you?”

The question made him look like a fool, not knowing what to answer. He then managed to find an answer, which sounded a bit tricky:

I am a Muslim, the follower of the Prophet Muhammad S.A.W.

“I am not asking your religion, I am asking who are you!.”
I am a human, sir. I pray 5 times a day, give charity as well. I fast in Ramadan and pay the zakat.

“I am not asking your type, or your deeds. I am asking who you are.”

At last, the person went away, he seemed to be disturbed. He failed at the first door, because of a very fair question: who he really is.

********

Knowing others is wisdom
Knowing the self is enlightenment.
Mastering others requires force
Mastering the self requires strength.
– Tao Te Ching

Adapted from somewhere..

4 Comments

  1. Noor said,

    November 11, 2008 at 11:20 am

    sometimes there’s no right or wrong answer to certain question.

  2. warid85 said,

    November 11, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Huhu ^^

  3. Syah-stafford said,

    November 11, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    akulah yang dekat
    namun tak tersentuh

    akulah yang jauh
    namun tak berantara

    semua tentangku

    aku sangat dekat pada mata
    tapi tak pernah dilihat

    aku sangat dekat dengan engkau
    tapi kau tak pernah mengenalku..

  4. Hafzan Lazim said,

    November 11, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    I will always answer like this “I’m Hafzan, son of Lazim, feared by men and highly desired by all the ladies.” He will open the door. 9 out of 10 doors. hahhahahahah


Leave a Reply

