Malaya Navy

After being in Plymouth for years (exaggeration), I did not even notice that there are a lot of Malayan soldier names (actually navy) written on the walls at the Plymouth Hoe. I have been there for plenty of times. Maybe this happens because I have underestimated the British government for what they have done to Malaya, I am not sure either. Is there any wall in Malaysia written the names of at least the soldiers that have given the lives to the country? Not even in the controversial Tugu Negara I guess..

I only realise about it a few weeks ago.. huhuhu

We should not worry about their name not being remembered by the new generation because if their intention was right, which is to protect the Deen of Allah, their courage is always remembered by the ultimate Creator. And call not those who are slain in the way of Allah “dead.” Nay, they are living, only ye perceive not (Al Baqarah 154).

The new generation must a least make the spirit that have being shown as an example so that they can use them whenever necessary. However, spirit alone is not enough. The relation with God and knowledge have the equal importance. Take some times to think about it.. huhuhu

Is there any familiar names written on the plaques? There are a lot more names, but I only put some of them.

I am not sure about the details of which war they were in, but certainly they are Malaysians.. Maybe there are some of my late relative names written on the walls. I need to interview Abah, Maa, Cik, Mek and the elders about that. Al Fatihah..

3 Comments

  1. Hafzan Lazim said,

    June 22, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Hj. Lazim once was a war hero. I am Proud and grateful to be born among these family. Maybe we should write up those stories of him too.
    Ask me to do it? Laziness has eaten up my very soul alive. I am too busy sleeping and dreaming. My f***ed up language worsened the situation.

  2. Guna said,

    June 22, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Dude..thanks for the awareness…even I am ashamed for not knowing this…anyway, it is a good piece of writing…u rock…!!!

  3. paih said,

    June 22, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Hj lazim? Try to ask ajik to interview abah.. get the cool story of him or his companions.. huhuhu.. Maybe I can edit a little bit here and there to spice things up.. huhuhu.. Cerita Puan Hjh Siti pun bleh.. huhuhu

    Guna.. I thought I am the last person know about it.. Hmmm.. Am I the first person discover about it? hmmmm


Leave a Reply

