The one with Huhn, Hänchen and Hund.

It happened during coffee break in the coffee roam at my workplace.

Hauke: Was isst du zu Hause? (What do you eat back home?)

Me: I esse viele Reis. (I eat a lot of rice.)

Hauke: Mit Huhn? (With chicken?)

Me: Ich esse keine Hund. Kätze auch. Du Leute immer zu mir fragen ob ich Kätze oder Hund esse. (I didn’t eat dog. Cat too. You guys always ask weather I eat cat or dog.)

Hauke: Isst du kein Huhn? Was isst du dann? (You didn’t eat chicken? So what do you eat actually?)

Me: I bin Muslim. Ich bin wählerisch mit mein Essen. Ich esse kein Schwein, Kätze, Hund und so weiter. Ich esse normal Essen wie Hänchen, Lamm, Kalb, Fisch und so weiter. (I am Muslim. I am very particular about my food. There are things I don’t eat such as Pork, cat, dog and so on. But I eat normal food such as mutton, beef, chicken, fish and so on.)

Hauke: Darf ich mal stören? Huhn ist Hänchen. (Can I disturb you? Chicken is chicken.)

My face turned red. (But I have a pretty dark skin. “Face turned red” just to make story become more dramatic)

Hauke: Ich weiß du isst nicht alle. (I know you don’t eat everything)

Me: Dann, bin ich entspannen. (What a relief)

Summary

Hund= dog

Huhn, Hänchen= Chicken.

Morale of the Story

  1. Pronounce the word correctly. Small matter does make a big difference.
  2. Start watching deutsch TV, listening deutsch Radio and reading deutsch newspaper.

If you don’t get the story I will be damn. But I cannot explain the story because women hate man who explain why his jokes are funny, man who always correct their grammar and the rest I didn’t remember. I hate when women hate me. The rest math, you do it yourself.

P/S: You too can make a different by switching of the light before go to sleep.

Hafzan Lazim

4 Comments

  1. zairaza said,

    April 29, 2008 at 12:01 am

    adeyh mende gok awk merapu ni. hahahhahahhaha. klakar2.
    sini pon sama. kalu ckp water, ppl will always ask twice. we need to pronounce it as wader. butter = buder and the list goes on. so gediklah org US nih.

    and wat the? i hate when women hate me? hahahahhahaha
    *tergolek sudah sy gelak*

  2. c su said,

    April 29, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Hehehe. Sgt aktif le penulis ni.Bykk bagus.

  3. sai said,

    May 2, 2008 at 1:13 am

    orang uk cakap: “shait!”
    orang aussie cakap: “it’sa gud dai tudai”
    pastu aku ingat yang tulis ni ialah seorang paih. rupanya seorang adik paih. patutla cakap klate. (di pj ada satu tempat dinamakan germany sebab ramai orang klate)

  4. paih said,

    May 5, 2008 at 7:11 am

    People in UK won’t understand you if you pronounce father/mother as the typical malay pronunciation ‘fader/mader’. I’ve been in that situation quite a number of times.

    Instead of that pronunciation, I would suggest that you pronoun it either as ‘the real’ father/mother (‘th’ sound – your tongue need to touch the top teeth) or become ‘gedik’ or what the native speaker perceives as ‘lazy’, remove the the ‘th’ sound – fa eh/mo eh (‘e’ is pronounce as in tElur-egg). They are just lazy to pronounce the middle ‘t’ sound such as city, party and ect.

    some the white aussie are the criminals back then, who were thrown away from the south west of the UK, which includes Plymouth. Maybe their regional dialect won’t be much different from the native speaker here. But things change over the time. They may have the thicker slang..


Leave a Reply

