Meeting the Master

Last few days, on my vacation to Paris, I have the opportunity to meet one of the young Masters in the Seni Silat Gayong Malaysia, Cikgu Shaiful Hakim Mohamed Noor.

Cikgu Hakim (left). Over pose pic..

Just a couple of years older than me, he is now a black belt Gayong master. It is with a few Dans as well. I have to construct on my own understanding about who actually deserves the belt as before this I thought that the person must be someone who is far older than him. And of course the person needs to have the wide knowledge on the written and unwritten syllabuses. Not to forget that he or she must have some experiences on the application part of these syllabuses.

However, that is not my main point. What amazes me is that he is able to open new ‘gelanggang(s)’ far away from home. Being able to handle new comers who have learnt other martial arts before and would challenge him first before joining the school is quite impressive. I must admit that I do not have the courage yet, and still searching for it.

My visit at one of his gelanggangs

In addition, I admire his enthusiasm and craziness in learning a variety school of martial arts. He knows a little bit here and there. It is like a compliment to what he has already known. He is on the right track to be a great person in the future (amin). Insyaallah (God willing) we will met again in the future to share some of the knowledge especially about Gayong. I’ll be in Dublin next few weeks to visit him and his students.

His weapons.. just Wow..

**I should talk about my ‘real’ visit to Paris rather than talking about this topic. Save the best for the last.. huhuhu..

3 Comments

  1. zairaza said,

    April 4, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    owoss. jupow doh dio sek2 silat. heh

  2. halaa said,

    April 6, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I’ve always wondering how western gelanggangs teach their students. must be really complicated. eh, faiz, how old is he eh?? I think I used to have the same perspective like you, I’m sure I’ll be shocked if you mention the number. he looked so young too. haha…

  3. paihz said,

    April 7, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    just a couple of years older than me.. I am always sweet 16.. and he would be? huhuhu… (ignore the last two sentences)


Leave a Reply

