You can save the world

i)

If you were familiar with the tv series Heroes season one, you might come across with the saying ‘Save the cheerleader, save the world’. Apart from this series, there are also a lot of superheroes who claim that they are able to save the world with their supernatural power.

However, that is not what I am going to talk about these superheroes. In fact, I have found something more interesting about you and me. All of us can save the world.

___________________________________

ii)

Yesterday, before I went to the class, I had a small talk with my house cleaner about things around us.

Sue : It is freezing cold outside.
Me : Hmmm.. (I opened the curtain of my room to see the weather outside my room).. It seems warm outside ..
Sue : You shouldn’t be easily deceived by the sunny day. Its windy and cold outside.
Me : Ooo.. (I just agreed with her).
Sue : It is usually cold in February, the windows of the cars are frozen a few times this week.
Me : Yeah, I’ve seen them frozen last week. But, I’m still waiting for the snow to come. (I showed my 10 penny face (muka 10sen).
Sue : If you are lucky, they’ll come.
Warid: But, with the global warming and all, it seems impossible.

And then, the killing question comes…

Sue :Do you know how we can save this world?
Me : Recycle? (I raise my eyebrows (~ ~).

We suggested a few answers based on our previous knowledge.. But none of the answers seemed to satisfy her. And then, she gave me some clues..

Sue : Look at the ceiling, and what’ll you see.
Me : (pretended to be clueless)
My mute monologue: OMG.. Is she trying to say that we never turn off the light at night?
Sue: When I come here every morning (before 9 a.m.), I can see that almost every houses in the village (our residential area) do not turn off the light. That means that the light is on all the night.
Sue started her early morning lecture: I think the college has spent load of money for this. I know that you pay about £60 per week, but you have got the complete package which including electricity, gas, water, Internet and even cleaner. That is fairly cheap isn’t? If you can turn off all the lights when you go sleeping, you can save the world, its very much energy.. bla bla bla..She ended up her lecture when we said that we have to rush to the lecture or else we’ll be late..

The discussion made me wonder for a while. Sue is actually has got her point. I am pretty sure that I was somehow convinced that I can actually save the world. It is by saving some electricity!! as easy as that.

ps: the dialogue is not the actual dialogue that we have in that morning. But the main idea about what we were talking about are there.

____________________________________

iii)

To be honest, I actually have a very bad habit of not turning off the light even when I sleep at night. It made me looked back to the time when I started to develop this weird habit. It was when I was in my early secondary school. There was a teacher who has passed down his habit to his students. If I am not forgotten, it was during an assembly when he gave some tips that will make us become good learners. He told that it is good to memorize the notes and do the reading early in the morning (1-2 a.m. until dawn). In order to do so, he suggested that we put the books besides the pillow when we sleep at night and do not turn off the light. So, when we wake up, we can easily do the reading as the light is still on. He stated that the practice was proved to be successful when he had tried the method himself.

Unfortunately, it didn’t really work perfectly on me. I had succeeded the turning on the light part, but not really attained the waking up at the middle of the night part. I only ended up tearing my books or at least crumpling them because these poor books would faithfully accompany me when I was sleeping. My mother would turn the light off if she woke up at the middle of the night but if not, it would be like that until the next morning. Although I got a lot of scolded or lectures from my parents, I could not really get rid of this habit. It was llike the schema that is being glued with the elephant glu (gam gajah) in my brain. Starting from that point, it has become my habit.

___________________________________

iv)

In IPBA, Kuala Lumpur, I slept a lot. I suffered a sleep disorder. ‘Suffer’ is probably not the right word, maybe ‘enjoyed’ is the correct one. I could sleep whether it is bright or dark, day or night, quiet or noisy, clear or haze air, just name it. Perhaps that was because of the training that I had before. In the first stage, sleeping in light, i crawled to the other higher stages. From sight, to the hearing, and to the smell, it was quite tough though. huhuhu.. It could be said that the life of my hostel started at night. The majority of the activities took place at night; from the educational stuff to the uncivilised activities. In this case, we can see that the large amount of electricity was consumed as least the lights turns on until the morning or even the afternoon.

___________________________________

v)

Back in Marjon, I am still with the habit. I again, don’t really turn off the light when I go to the bed. One of my neighbours even once asked me when do I usually sleep at night. It is because she always sees my room bright. When I told her that I did turn the light off when I go to sleep, she asked me: ‘Kenapa? takut hantu ke? (Why? Are afraid of ghost?)’. It made me laugh, if I am afraid of ghost, I would turn off the light, because we can’t see anything in the dark, even the bright ghost. And the other way around, I can see everything if it is bright. It is obvious. huhuhu

Even this ghost needs a torchlight to make others see her..
credit to Kenira

___________________________________

vi)

Just a few weeks ago, I received a link via Yahoo Messenger from a friend of mine.

Oggy : http://www.earthhour.org/ see the different you can make – be part of it
Paih : apekah?
Oggy : check it out
Paih : I cant see the pic
Oggy : what picture?
Oggy : just a website
Paih : the flash?
Oggy : Owh u dun have it..never mind that mind this – Created to take a stand against the greatest threat our planet has ever faced, Earth Hour uses the simple action of turning off the lights for one hour to deliver a powerful message about the need for action on global warming. This simple act has captured the hearts and minds of people all over the world. As a result, at 8pm on the 29 March, 2008 millions of people in some of the world’s major capital cities, including Copenhagen, Toronto, Chicago, Melbourne, Brisbane and Tel Aviv will unite and switch off for Earth Hour.
Paih : but I cant see the pic above it
Oggy : what browser do u use?
Oggy : firefox?
Oggy : switch to IE or Opera or Avant
Paih : is it worth it?
Oggy : worth it if you want to prevent the global warming
Paih : hmm
Oggy : never mind that…the point is already said
Paih : huhuhu
Paih : i’ll try then..

__________________________________

to be continued…

6 Comments

  1. zairaza said,

    February 16, 2008 at 7:43 am

    yeah abepaih, you never turn off the light. but i never know why. so it is because the “good habit” you wanna practice? perabih bil jah weyh!! :p

  2. halaa said,

    February 17, 2008 at 8:30 am

    well, if this is what you mean by ‘merapu’, I have to say my standard of ‘merapu’ is way lower than yours… heh…

  3. arsaili said,

    February 22, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    cikgu to be ke ni? salam kenal..bloghopping fr cikgu panji

  4. paihz said,

    February 24, 2008 at 1:56 am

    zairaza: I know that you were worst than me back in malaysia.. am i right?

    hala: you are waaaay more expert than me.. i know that..

    arsali: salam kenal.. huhuhu

  5. zairaza said,

    February 24, 2008 at 2:20 am

    hehe you’re completely wrong.

  6. halaa said,

    March 1, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Ohho, how could you be so sure, dear friend? You know more knowledge than I do, okay… ‘Budak pandai la katakan…’. I envy that, hiks…
    Well, since I (rarely) have a one-week-holiday, I’m interested in paying more attention to add up some points for global warming, if you don’t mind.

    I think it was repeatedly mentioned in the Qur’an that man should not engage himself in acts that entails spoiling the earth after Almighty Allah has created it suitable and well prepared for the successive human generations. (2:21-22) (13:2-4) etc. Some verses announced that Allah does not like spoiling or those who spoil in life (sorry, I forgot which verse); this includes spoiling environment, polluting it or being aggressive with it, though maybe not exactly mentioned. Also it is forbidden to abuse it in any way that would make it deviate from the purpose Allah created it for. This act of preserving is one part of prevention in global warming context.

    Lately I also come to realize that Muslims urged to have great concern for everything created by Allah, for it is part and parcel of “submission to Allah” to show reverence to all what the Almighty Allah created. (16:66-67). Islam urges people—all people—to protect the environment and calls them not to pollute or spoil it. For example, Islam prohibits urinating or defecating or throwing garbage, carcasses, industrial wastes, or suchlike things in water, for doing so causes much harm to man, animals, and the environment.

    I think we can extract a very important legal rule founded by our Prophet (pbuh)when he said, “No harm shall be inflicted or reciprocated in Islam.” (HR Ahmad). The Prophet (pbuh) also stated, “If you refuse but to sit in roads, then pay the road its right.” They said, “What is the right of the road, Allah’s Messenger?” He said, “Lowering your gaze, returning greetings, and removing harmful things from the road” (HR Muslim).

    I could go on forever just to talk about this. So, I think I better stop before this page become my blog instead of yours, sorry. Hehe… Anyway, I tried the Earth Hour page and I couldn’t see the pic too. huuu~~


Leave a Reply

